My Next Adventure.

If you read my first post, you know that I am on the #SASearch, which also means that I am anxiously awaiting my future.  This time of year is stressful for graduates, and Student Affairs professionals alike as we wonder where we will be headed in the next few months, in pursuit of a future in the exciting and crazy world of Student Affairs.

I am more than excited to announce that the wait is finally over.  I have accepted a Fraternity Graduate Assistant position at the University of South Dakota!  This week I was fully accepted into their Educational Administration graduate program and I will be specializing in Adult and Higher Education.  I am officially going to be a Coyote!  And a #SAGrad!

I have no experience with Greek Life and know absolutely nothing about the Greek system other than the fact that it carries with it a stigma and many negative stereotypes.   I’m hoping to find that these stereotypes and stigmas are proven wrong.

Honestly, it is my lack of knowledge mixed with my desire for a new experience that weighed into my decision to attend USD and to accept this position.  I am ready for a new challenge.  I am excited to work with a group of young men who have chosen to be a part of the Greek system and to learn from them as I go along.  I can’t wait to see what Greek Life is all about!

In the meantime, I have to make it through my finals and summer.  I will spend the majority of that time working, around a bonfire, and researching all there is to know about Fraternity and Sorority Life.  If you’re reading this and have any insight, don’t hesitate to reach out to me.

#GoYotes

-Joel

Leave a Reply

