Settle Down It’ll All Be Clear.

I have been in Vermillion for just over two weeks now.  During this time I have been able to fully move into my place, explore Vermillion and USD, and meet a few people.  I have started my position as a Fraternity Graduate Assistant and have completed training.  I can’t wait for students to arrive back on campus and for classes to start.

I have been so nervous with all of the beginnings and the new challenges that I am about to face this year so I just wanted to take the time to share a few things that I have done to make myself familiar with my new home.

Get a library card

FullSizeRender

I love libraries.  I love books.  I love reading.  I am excited to be in a new city because that means that I have one more library to check books out from.  I really love that libraries use eBooks these days because no matter how far away from them I live I can still check out books.  One of the first things I did upon my arrival in Vermillion was make a visit to the library to browse around, check out a book, and get a library card-because lets just talk about how magical library cards are!

Current read is What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami

Go for a run or a hike

Other than Higher Education, running and hiking are two other things that I am truly passionate about.  So when it comes to moving to a new city, what greater way to get to know a place than by running through it or finding a hiking path?

Find a coffee shop to frequent

I love coffee and company, so a small coffee shop is vital to my living situations.  Good thing Vermillion has one that suits my every need.  Café Brule is a cute little specialty coffee shop, full service restaurant, bakery, and even has a long list of wine and beer to choose from.  If you don’t enjoy something from Café Brule, you are doing something horribly wrong with your life.  I have already spent too much time and money here, and I know that it will soon become a staple in my weekly routine.  Another plus to Café Brule is that they accept money from my meal plan!

Attend a community event

Getting involved in the city in which you live is one way to feel truly connected to it.  I love small college towns because quite often the city and campus communities are close-knit and allow for many opportunities to get involved in both.  Here in Vermillion, the young professionals network, Vermillion Next, works hard to provide fun and cheap entertainment for our community members.

The first event that I attended in town is a bi-weekly summer event called Thursdays On The Platz.  There is live music, free entertainment, food catered by local businesses, and beer and wine sampling.  It is a great way to meet people in town and is a fun atmosphere to be a part of.

Check out the local Farmers Market

I am a huge supporter of shopping local.  I love knowing that my food or gifts are coming from just up the street and I love building relationships with the people who are making the items I use regularly.  Most towns have some sort of farmers market, and Vermillion is no different.  I stopped by on Saturday and picked up a few amazing items!

IMG_6178

My first purchase was this local honey.  Moving to a new place, living in an old, dirty house, and adjusting to a new schedule does not make for the greatest equation in terms of allergies.  Some of this honey should do the trick in slowing down my allergies.

I couldn’t resist this little succulent in a coffee mug either.  I mean, how cute is it?  And, let’s just be honest…Did anyone think I was going to pass up cold brew?  Nope.  The Bean is a new start up company in Vermillion.  Right now they don’t have a location, but are selling at local events such as the Farmers Market and Thursdays On The Platz.  They sell cold brew coffee and home brewed iced tea.  I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for this amazing new business and I can’t wait to get my next batch of homemade goodness.

Relax.

Yes, amid exploring, work and getting myself comfortable in this strange new place, I have found the time to relax and breathe and do something for myself.  I think that while it is so important to get acquainted with your new home and to get involved and meet people, you also have to make sure that you are ok with all of this new stress.  Taking time for myself, making phone calls to friends/family back home, reading, and watching the Olympics have been ways for me to rewind and relax during all of this excitement.  I just have to remind myself that I may still feel lost and confused at times, but it will all be clear soon enough.  I just have to be patient and absorb everything as I go.

Wish me luck as I dive into Sorority and Fraternity Recruitment in the coming weeks!

-Joel

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

