Creation.

Last night I did something a little spontaneous and out of the ordinary; I got a hotel room and enjoyed a night to myself.  I had just arrived back on campus after facilitating a leadership retreat in the middle of nowhere for work.  The Lambda’s had their initiation ceremony and out of respect for them and their ritual practice I was asked to be as absent from the facility as possible.  I was exhausted and wanted nothing more than my bed, but I gave in to the request and decided to take advantage of this opportunity to spend a night rejuvenating before starting my second semester of grad school.


I went to dinner with Stephanie, packed a bag for the night, bought a bottle of wine, and checked in to the Red Roof Inn here in Vermillion.

I took a bath, did a little reading, and slept for almost ten hours.  I woke refreshed, drank every one of the coffee packets in my room, and crawled back in bed to do some more reading.


I’m not sure if it was the silence, the great night of sleep, the ability to relax, or something else entirely, but my creative juices have been flowing.  I have felt the desire to write, draw, run, do yoga, take photos, CREATE.

I spent all of today pondering what my new creation would be and how I would use this creative energy to do something really cool.  Well, I decided to revamp my blog.  I want to use this space to create stories, paint pictures, share snapshots of my life.

Now, you’re probably thinking Joel, that is what your blog is already and you’re not wrong.  But from now on I would like to focus each post on one central idea or concept.  This one: Creation.


{Creation}

To create is to start something new.  A beginning.  A birth.  A starting line.  Nature.  Music.  Architecture.  Technology.  These are the things that come to mind when I think of creation.

I have always had a bit of a creative mind.  I’ve always been a dreamer, a thinker, an artist.  While not having the coordination or the skills to really make a go of it in the fine arts field, creativity-in my opinion-spans far wider than that.  Anyone can be a creative.  Everyone has the ability to create.  Even me.

This blog is a creation.  A work of art.  A space in which creativity flows from my mind and into a new space shared by millions, the internet, another creation.

But then there’s the thought of abstractness and the claim that all matter is neither created nor destroyed.  What exactly does this mean for us as creatives?  We’re ages old and yet so very young all at the same time.  We are limitless.  We are endless.

That is the beauty in creation.  It is endless, limitless, old, new, constant.  Always changing and allowing for even more creation.

So, for me, in this moment I am creating space to be freethinking and to embrace words, communication, thoughts, and ideas.  I am using this space as a vehicle for sharing my creation just as the internet allows for so many creations around the world to be shared.

I enjoy starting something new and putting my all into it.  I love the fact that I am able to create.  I love knowing that I can put my restless hands and my wandering mind to work together to create something of substance, something new and exciting.

I look forward to using this as a fresh start for my blog and launching it into greatness and sharing each new post with all of you!  I look forward to creating fun new content centered around specific ideas such as this first one.

-Joel

Leave a Reply

